Conférence R.M. Petrie

La conférence Petrie est un discours invité prononcé tous les deux ans par un astrophysicien remarquable à l’occasion du congrès annuel de la Société, commémorant l’importante contribution à la recherche en astrophysique du défunt Robert M. Petrie. La conférence Petrie est née sous les auspices du Comité national canadien de l’UAI, avant même l’existence de la Société, et fut relancée par la Société en 1977 comme un événement régulier. Les nominations pour la conférence Petrie peuvent être effectuées en tout temps en soumettant le nom du nominé au comité des prix et médailles, et doivent être proposées par au moins deux membres de la CASCA en bonne et due forme. Les nominations pour la conférence de 2021 doivent être reçues d’ici le 31 decembre 2020.

Conférence R.M. Petrie 2019


The 2019 R. M. Petrie Prize is awarded to Dr. Gabriela Gonzalez.

Dr. Gonzalez is a professor of physics and astronomy at the Louisiana State University and has been a member of the LIGO Scientific Collaboration (LSC) since 1997. Her group has been involved in noise-characterization and calibration of the LIGO detectors, as well as data analysis. Dr. Gonzalez was the spokesperson for the LSC from March 2011 until March 2017, and in that role oversaw the ground-breaking discovery of the first gravitational wave source with Advanced LIGO. She is a fellow of the Institute of Physics, the American Physical Society and was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2017.

CASCA is honoured to have Dr. Gonzalez give the Petrie Prize lecture.

Depuis 1985, les conférenciers R.M. Petrie ont été:
2017 Charles Beichman From protostars to exoplanets to life on other worlds
2015 Wendy Freedman Measurement of Cosmological Parameters
2013 Françoise Combes Molecular gas in galaxies across the Hubble time
2011 Andrew Fabian Within one gravitational radius of the event horizon of a black hole
2009 Scott Tremaine Stellar dynamics at the centres of galaxies
2007 Ewine van Dishoeck Spitzer observations of star- and planet-forming regions from ice cold to steaming hot
2005 Reinhard Genzel Massive Black Holes in Galaxies
2003 Sir Martin Rees How Did the Cosmic Dark Age End?
2001 James Gunn The Sloan Digital Survey
1999 Sidney van den Bergh The Local Group of Galaxies
1997 Alex Filippenko Supernovae and their Cosmological Implications
1995 George Herbig IC 349 – Barbard’s Merope Nebula
1993 Maarten Schmidt From Galactic Structure to Quasars
1991 P. B. Stetson Progress in CCD Photometry
1989 P. J. E. Peebles Tracing the Orbits of Galaxies back in Time
1987 Henry Matthews C3H2 – A New Probe of the Interstellar Medium
1985 Charles Townes The Galactic Centre
1983 M. J. Plavec Strongly Interacting Binary Stars
1981 Hubert Reeves La Physique des Premiers Temps de l’Univers
1979 Geoffrey Burbidge The Redshift Problem
1977 J. Beverly Oke Seyfert Galaxies and Quasars
1971 Jesse L. Greenstein Pre-White Dwarf Evolution
1971 C. S. Beals Forms of Impact Craters Related to the Thermal History of the Lunar Surface
1970 A. G. W. Cameron The Chemical Evolution of the Galaxy

Les commentaires sont fermés.