Le Prix Carlyle S. Beals

 2020 Carlyle S. Beal Award
The 2020 Carlyle S. Beals Award is presented to Dr. Howard Yee for his outstanding career contributions to Observational Cosmology

Dr. Yee obtained his PhD from the California Institute of Technology, and is currently a Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics at the University of Toronto. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and previously held a Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) in Observational Cosmology. For almost three decades, Dr. Yee has been a leader of optical/infrared collaborations in Canada and internationally. He spearheaded the Canadian Network for Observational Cosmology Surveys, and with his students, pioneered the Cluster Red-Sequence algorithm for galaxy cluster identification that has revolutionized the use of galaxy clusters as cosmological probes. Dr. Yee has additionally served in multiple leadership positions in the community, serving on various boards, steering committees, and time-allocation committees for the Canada France Hawaii Telescope and the Gemini Observatory, and has provided much of the early leadership for the Academia Sinica Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics Institute in Taiwan.

CASCA is delighted to recognize Dr. Yee’s efforts with this award.

Les récipiendaires depuis 1982 sont:
2018 Mark Halpern « Modern Cosmology » View Citation
2016 Chris Pritchet « The Progenitors of Type Ia Supernovae » View Citation
2014 Harvey Richer « Globular clusters » Voir la citation
2012 David Crampton « Carpe Lux. Beal’s Lecture 2012 » Voir la citation
2010 Bill Harris « Between Galaxies and Stars »
2008 Ray Carlberg « Preliminary SNLS Third Year Results »
2006 Georges Michaud « Atomic Diffusion in Pop II Stars, Globular Clusters and WMAP »
2004 Ernest R. Seaquist « The Galaxy M82 – a Rosetta Stone for the Starburst Phenomenon »
2002 John Landstreet « Magnetic Fields in Stars »
2000 Gilles Fontaine « The Potential of White Dwarf Cosmochronology »
1998 Gordon A. H. Walker « Challenges for the New Millennium: Some Persistent Astronomical Mysteries »
1996 J. Richard Bond « Cosmic Background Anisotropies and Large Scale Structure: Past, Present and Future »
1994 Peter G. Martin « Interstellar Pinball: A Sometimes Shocking Story of Excited Molecular Hydrogen »
1992 Rene Racine « Support for Astronomy »
1990 Scott Tremaine « Is the Solar System Stable? »
1988 Sidney van den Bergh « Supernovae and their Remnants »
1985 Anne B. Underhill
1982 John B. Hutchings

Les commentaires sont fermés.