Faculty position: Canada Research Chair Tier II

The Saint Mary’s University Department of Astronomy and Physics invites applications from researchers in all areas of astronomy and astrophysics to be the University’s nominee for a Tier II Canada Research Chair (CRC) in Astronomy. Tier-II CRC positions are prestigious appointments established by the government of Canada and designed to attract exceptional emerging researchers who are within ten years of obtaining their PhDs and are acknowledged by their peers as having the potential to become leaders in their field (see www.chairs.gc.ca for details and eligibility criteria). To facilitate research, they carry a substantially reduced teaching load. The successful candidate will be nominated by the University to the CRC Secretariat and, if approved, will be appointed as a regular faculty member to a tenure-track position at the Assistant or Associate Professor level. Collectively, astronomy, computational sciences, and subatomic physics form one of the five major research t
hemes at Saint Mary’s University. The University recognizes the long and continuing record of excellence from the Department in these fields of research and has allocated two Canada Research Chairs to Astronomy (this position as well as a Tier I CRC that is also being filled this year). More details may be found at: http://www.smu.ca/webfiles/SRP-Senateapproved.pdf.

The Department of Astronomy and Physics is the regional centre for astronomy in Atlantic Canada, and consists of ten faculty members, all with active research efforts in observational astronomy, theoretical and computational astrophysics, and experimental subatomic physics. The Department offers both MSc and PhD degrees in astronomy, as well as undergraduate physics and astrophysics programs. Saint Mary’s University also hosts the Institute for Computational Astrophysics (ICA), an institute focused on promoting computational astrophysics in the broadest possible terms, including the tackling of complex astrophysical phenomena through numerical simulation and advancing discoveries utilizing “big data” from large multinational observational facilities. Astronomers in the Department can apply for observing time on Gemini, CFHT, ALMA, JCMT ASTROSAT and Astro-H, and in the future facilities such as JWST and TMT. ICA members are active in the local HPC consortium, ACEnet, as
well as in Compute Canada, while the subatomic physicists are frequent users of TRIUMF, Jefferson Lab, and other world facilities. For a more complete account of departmental activities, see http://www.ap.smu.ca.

Saint Mary’s is located in the historic port city of Halifax, Nova Scotia, a vibrant, urban community of over 350,000 people. Halifax is a major educational and economic centre for Atlantic Canada and is home to six universities. It is conveniently located close to recreational areas and major urban centres in Canada and the northeastern United States. A public university with over 7,000 students, Saint Mary’s offers a variety of undergraduate and graduate degree programs. The University has gone through significant renewal in the past decade and has over 250 full-time faculty involved in innovative teaching, research and service. For information about the University and the Faculty of Science, please see http://science.smu.ca/.

Saint Mary’s University hires on the basis of merit and is committed to the principles of employment equity. Saint Mary’s University encourages applications from qualified women, visible minorities, Aboriginal people, and people with disabilities. While preference will be given to Canadian citizens and permanent residents of Canada, applications from all qualified applicants will be considered.

The search committee will begin reviewing applications on December 1st, 2015. To be considered, please submit your CV and research plan to the address below, and arrange for three recommendation letters to be sent directly to the same address by that date.

Marcin Sawicki, Chairperson
Department of Astronomy and Physics
Saint Mary’s University Halifax, Nova Scotia
Canada B3H 3C3
Email: chair@ap.smu.ca

Pour marque-pages : Permaliens.

Les commentaires sont fermés.