Reminder, deadline is Jan 15 – Rappel, date limite du 15 janvier CASCA awards nominations – Nominations pour les Prix et médailles de la CASCA

CASCA members are invited to submit their nominations for four awards
that will be bestowed in 2013:

1. *R.M. Petrie Prize Lecture*: The Petrie Lecture is “an invited discourse by an outstanding astrophysicist which is held at Annual Meetings of the Society in alternate years, in memory of the significant contributions to astrophysical research by the late
Robert M. Petrie.”
2. *Peter G. Martin Award*: Awarded to a CASCA member for Mid-Career Achievement by “a Canadian astronomer, or an astronomer working in Canada, within ten to twenty years of receipt of his or her PhD degree, to recognize significant contributions to astronomical research”
3. *J.S. Plasket Medal*: “Awarded to the Ph.D. graduate student from a Canadian university who is judged to have submitted the most outstanding doctoral thesis in astronomy or astrophysics in the preceding two calendar years.”
4. *Qilak Award*: “Awarded to a Canadian resident, or a team of residents, who have made an outstanding contribution either to the public understanding and appreciation of astronomy in Canada, or to informal astronomy education in Canada”.  [Selection to be made in consultation with the Education and Public Outreach Committee.]

For more information on these awards, including nomination requirements and a list of past recipients, please see:

Nominating letters and supporting materials should be submitted (electronically) to both the chair of the CASCA Awards Committee

and the CASCA business office

Any questions should be directed to the committee chair. In all cases, the deadline for submissions is *January 15, 2013*.

Patrick Cote, on behalf of the CASCA Awards Committee


Les membres de la CASCA sont invités à soumettre le nom de candidats pour les 4 prix suivants qui seront attribués en 2013:

1. La conférence R.M. Petrie: “La Conférence Petrie est prononcée tous les deux ans par un astrophysicien de mérite à l’occasion du congrès annuel de la Société. Elle commémore l’importante contribution de Robert M. Petrie à la recherche en astrophysique.”

2. Le prix Peter G. Martin: “Le prix Peter G. Martin pour contribution exceptionnelle de mi-carrière d’un membre de la CASCA est accordé à un astronome canadien ou un astronome travaillant au Canada. Le PhD du candidat doit avoir été décerné entre 10 et 20 ans avant la mise en candidature car le but est de reconnaître des contributions significatives à la recherche en astronomie.”

3. La médaille J.S. Plasket: “Le prix est attribué chaque année au diplômé de doctorat d’une université canadienne dont la thèse en astronomie ou astrophysique a été jugée la plus remarquable au cours des deux dernières années civiles.”

4. Le prix Qilak: “Le prix Qilak reconnaît des individus ou équipes résidant au Canada qui ont contribué de façon exceptionnelle soit à la compréhension et l’appréciation de l’astronomie au Canada, soit à l’éducation informelle en astronomie au Canada.” [La sélection sera faite en consultation avec le comité Education et Relations Publiques.]

Pour obtenir plus d’information, incluant les règlements et la liste des récipiendaires des années précédentes, veuillez consulter la page suivante:

Les lettres de nominations et le matériel demandé doivent être soumis (électroniquement) au président du comité Prix et Médailles et également au bureau de la Société:

Toute question peut être envoyée au président du comité. Dans tous les cas, la date limite des soumissions est le 15 janvier 2013.

Patrick Cote, de la part du comité des Prix et Médailles de la CASCA

Martin Award

The Peter G. Martin Award for mid-career achievement was established in 2009 thanks to a generous gift from Peter Martin, a former President of CASCA and Professor at the University of Toronto.

The Martin Award is considered every second year, for presentation in odd-numbered years, to a mid-career astronomer in recognition of significant contributions to astronomical research. To be eligible, the nominee must be a member of CASCA in good standing, and a Canadian astronomer or an astronomer working in Canada. The nominee will normally have received his or her PhD degree between 10 and 20 years previously; allowances will be made for extended leaves of up to two years, e.g. maternity, paternity or parental leaves, medical leaves, etc. However, no individual may be nominated for both the Richer (early career) and Martin (mid-career) prizes in the same year.

The recipient shall be invited to address the Society at its Annual General Meeting. The nomination package must be submitted entirely in electronic form to the Chair of the Awards committee and should consist of:

  • A joint letter of nomination (see nomination guidelines) signed by at least two members of CASCA in good standing;
  • The CV of the nominee;
  • Three external letters of support (e.g., from international experts in the nominee’s field). No letter should exceed two pages in length.

The deadline for nominations for the 2021 Award is 31 December 2020.

2021 Peter G. Martin Award

Sara Ellison

CASCA is pleased to announce Dr. Sara Ellison as the recipient of the 2021 Martin Award. Dr. Ellison obtained her PhD from Cambridge University, and is currently a Professor of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Victoria. Dr. Ellison is an international leader in both the study of high redshift QSO absorption lines and galaxy mergers in the nearby universe. She displays an outstanding breadth in her research. As an observer Dr. Ellison has led observing programs across the electromagnetic spectrum, from X-rays to optical to radio wavelengths. As a theorist, she has complemented her observational work with simulations on a variety of length scales and cutting edge techniques such as machine learning. Her research is of the highest impact, garnering more than 11,500 total citations, with many of her works on galaxy metallicity and galaxy interactions/mergers considered definitive treatments in the field. Dr. Ellison received the Annie Jump Cannon Award from the American Astronomical Society in 2004, the University of Victoria Faculty of Science Award in Research Excellence in 2009, the Royal Society of Canada’s Rutherford Memorial Medal in Physics in 2014, and the REACH Silver Medal for Research Excellence in 2020.

CASCA is delighted to recognize Dr. Ellison’s achievements with this award.

Recipients to date have been:
2019 Gaensler Bryan
Radio Astronomy, Cosmic Magnetism
2017 Stairs Ingrid
Pulsars and general relativity
2015 ferrarese Laura
Massive Galaxies, Globular Clusters, and Everything In Between
2013 Victoria
‘Grand Unification’ of Neutron Stars
2011 Roberto
Some thoughts on galaxies and graduate students
2009 René
On Infrared Instrumentation and Searching for Pale Red Dots