Carlyle S. Beals Award

The Carlyle S. Beals Award was established by CASCA in 1981 in recognition of the groundbreaking research of the late C.S. Beals. The Beals Prize was originally awarded to provide a grant for travel to a General Assembly of the International Astronomical Union (every three years). In 1988, however, it was first awarded in its present form: to a Canadian astronomer or an astronomer working in Canada, in recognition of outstanding achievement in research (either as a specific achievement or as a lifetime of research). The recipient shall be invited to address the Society at its Annual Meeting. To be considered for the award, nominees must be current CASCA members in good standing.

An award is now considered every second year, in even-numbered years. The nomination package must be submitted entirely in electronic form to the Chair of the Awards committee and should consist of:

  • A letter of nomination (self-nominations are accepted);
  • The CV of the nominee

In addition, three external letters of support (e.g., from international experts in the nominee’s field), sent directly to the Chair of the Awards committee (to ensure confidentiality of references). No letter should exceed three pages in length. No other material should be submitted.

The deadline for submissions for the 2024 award is January 15 2024.

 2022 Carlyle S. Beals Award
CASCA is pleased to announce that Dr. Anthony Moffat is the winner of the 2022 Beals Award.

This is in recognition of decades of cutting-edge research on topics relating to massive stars, including Wolf-Rayet stars, stellar pulsations, rotation, magnetic fields, clumping, binaries, clusters, and surveys. Many of us have used a Moffat profile: that was his work! He received his doctorates in astronomy from Ruhr-Universitaet Bochum in Germany, and has been a professor at Université de Montréal ever since, and hasn’t slowed his research output since taking emeritus status. He has trained generations of scientists who are still working in Canada and internationally. He remains very active in research on massive stars and astronomy projects like the BRITE constellation.

CASCA is delighted to recognize Dr. Moffat’s efforts with this award.

Recipients to date have been:
2020 Howard Yee “Observational Cosmology” View Citation
2018 Mark Halpern “Modern Cosmology” View Citation
2016 Chris Pritchet “The Progenitors of Type Ia Supernovae” View Citation
2014 Harvey Richer “Globular clusters” View Citation
2012 David Crampton “Carpe Lux. Beal’s Lecture 2012” View Citation
2010 Bill Harris “Between Galaxies and Stars”
2008 Ray Carlberg “Preliminary SNLS Third Year Results”
2006 Georges Michaud “Atomic Diffusion in Pop II Stars, Globular Clusters and WMAP”
2004 Ernest R. Seaquist “The Galaxy M82 – a Rosetta Stone for the Starburst Phenomenon”
2002 John Landstreet “Magnetic Fields in Stars”
2000 Gilles Fontaine “The Potential of White Dwarf Cosmochronology”
1998 Gordon A. H. Walker “Challenges for the New Millennium: Some Persistent Astronomical Mysteries”
1996 J. Richard Bond “Cosmic Background Anisotropies and Large Scale Structure: Past, Present and Future”
1994 Peter G. Martin “Interstellar Pinball: A Sometimes Shocking Story of Excited Molecular Hydrogen”
1992 Rene Racine “Support for Astronomy”
1990 Scott Tremaine “Is the Solar System Stable?”
1988 Sidney van den Bergh “Supernovae and their Remnants”
1985 Anne B. Underhill
1982 John B. Hutchings

Comments are closed.